Isaac Newton moves to Oxford

It has been nearly two months since my last blogpost, which is a) rather a long time, and b) quite unusual. Teaching duties, Newton Project business, my own research: yours truly has been busy. But I have some exciting news. Read on…

Two months indeed. It could have been far worse, though: our dear Isaac once maintained radio-silence for almost a year, having submitted his resignation from the Royal Society (which was duly ignored, by the way) and being pretty pissed-off by some of his criticasters.

Scoop!

I, on the other hand, still love y’all, and boy, have I got news for you: Newton is about to move to Oxford! Rob Iliffe, director of the Newton Project, has accepted a position as Professor in History of Science at Linacre College, Oxford, and he will take the project with him. Hence all of us are preparing for both a physical and a digital relocation of body and soul. It also takes a lot of time and preparation, yet another reason why it has been quiet at the Newton front. But, things being December, I thought I’d share some of my plans for the new year.

New Year’s resolutions

So far, most my writings have been fairly classical, focussing on Newton’s life and works, and especially on the books from his library. From January onwards, I will start a series of posts that will highlight the other side of my research, which is fairly digital and explores new methods of Newtonian research. Modern historiography seeks to understand the man/woman behind the science, and their other interests. With Newton we have witnessed his studies in alchemy and his lifelong research of the prophesies in Scripture. My own project focusses on another Newtonian interest, his 40-year project in chronology. With the online presence of the Newton Project, Newton’s writings have not only become available to everyone with an internet-connection, they have also become accesible for data-analysis. By applying state-of-the-art digital methods, I aim to shed light on Newton’s creative processes as they appear through his writings.

So, I will keep you posted. But in the mean time I have a house, a life, and a library to move, so to all of you an early merry merry Christmas!

 

One Comment Add yours

  1. Huenemann says:

    Just saw this now – the weird and wonderful field of chronology will benefit from your insights!

Leave a Reply

